Northern Uproar!

regions-montage.jpg

Details of some forthcoming Louder In The Regions appearances in the Great Northern Powerhouse by yours truly + the great (and highly amusing) Jah Wobble + fellow scribes Chris Salewicz, Zoe Howe and more…

PONTEFRACT: The Tap and Barrel, Front Street

Wed 8th March  7.30pm  Jah Wobble in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Wed 12th April  7.30pm  John Osborne: John Peel’s Shed
Click here for tix & info

Wed 10th May  7.30pm  Barney Hoskyns in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Wed 21st June  7.30pm  Chris Salewicz in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Wed 5th July  7.30pm  Zoe Howe in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Tap-and-Barrel-2

SHEFFIELD: The Ship Inn, Kelham Island

Tues 7th March  7.30pm  Jah Wobble in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Tues 11th April  7.30pm  John Osborne: John Peel’s Shed
Click here for tix & info

Tues 9th May  7.30pm  Barney Hoskyns in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Tues 20th June  7.30pm  Chris Salewicz in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Tues 4th July  7.30pm  Zoe Howe in conversation
Click here for tix & info

The-Ship

YORK: The Woolpack Inn, 6 Fawcett Street

Wed 22nd March  7.30pm  Chris Salewicz in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Wed 26th April  7.30pm  Jah Wobble in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Wed 17th May  7.30pm  Barney Hoskyns in conversation
Click here for tix & info

Wed 14th June   7.30pm  John Osborne: John Peel’s Shed
Click here for tix & info

Wed 12th July  7.30pm  Zoe Howe in conversation
Click here for tix & info

A.A. Gill

methode-sundaytimes-prod-web-bin-934e1930-b7d5-11e6-8e75-e0dd5ec17459

Even in his grimmest hour, Adrian Gill managed to be very funny:

“Someone should write a paper on the euphemistic size comparisons for tumours. There should be an esite, Euphotumours. The images are very masculine: golf balls, cricket balls, bullets, grenades, ruminant testicles. No one ever says, ‘I’ve got a cancer the size of a fairy cake’.” See his final piece in today’s Sunday Times.

I knew Gill only to shake his hand and exchange the occasional pleasantry, but he was as impressive in person as he was on the page. He seemed to be doing okay 10 days ago, so the news yesterday morning felt very sudden and very shocking. The thought of his nine-year-olds losing him two weeks before Christmas is too much to bear.

 

Cheltenham Festival x 2

12085-fitandcrop-484x305

San Francisco: A Portrait Of A City

Honoured to be revisiting the hazy daze of Haight-Ashbury (and North Beach) in the august company of the great (Barry) Miles… at the Times Cheltenham festival.

Fri 7 Oct 2016 8:30pm – 9:30pm, The Inkpot, Imperial Square

Also yakking about genius and dysfunction in the life of the head Beach Boy with Will Hodgkinson and Lisa Verrico…

11792-fitandcrop-484x305

Brian Wilson: A Life

Sun 16 Oct 2016 12:30pm – 1:30pm, The Sunday Times Garden Theatre